CoD: Black Ops III – Awakening DLC Released

Posted on 04 Mar 2016 by
Simon Sirmenis

To help the game last a year till its inevitable next instalment Treyarch released the first DLC package for Call of Duty: Black Ops III – Awakening. This time around Sony secured a timed exclusive arrangement with Activision for any Black Ops III content to come to PS4 first but that grace period has expired and now it’s arrived to our beloved platform, PC, too.

For more on the new DLC see the ridiculous trailer from a month ago above and read the official press release with some screenshots below.

Official Press Release

London, UK – 3rd March 2016 – The first DLC map pack for the number one top-selling video game of 2015, Call of Duty®: Black Ops III Awakening from Activision Publishing, Inc. and developer Treyarch, is now available on Xbox One and PC, in addition to PlayStation 4.

DLC 1: Awakening features:

  • Skyjacked: High above urban Zurich, Skyjacked is a modernised version of the popular Call of Duty®: Black Ops II multiplayer map Hijacked. Utilising the new core movement system featured in Black Ops III, this map gives players new ways to explore the environment, while still retaining the same fast and frenetic gameplay players love.
  • Splash: Dive into battle in this abandoned water park, featuring a vibrant and colourful environment, including waterslides, a wrecked pirate ship and a lazy river. Splash encourages an open flow of combat with opportunities for underwater gameplay.
  • Gauntlet: Delivering three unique environments within one action-packed map, Gauntlet showcases Treyarch’s classic three-lane map structure, transporting players into battle through a sprawling jungle, sub-zero arctic zone and rainy urban cityscape.
  • Rise: A versatile multiplayer map, Rise is set in the snowy outskirts of Zurich in the middle of an ongoing construction site for a massive subterranean Coalescence research campus.  With multiple engagement areas throughout this larger map, each section caters to different styles of gameplay.

Awakening also introduces the first chapter of Call of Duty: Black Ops III’s Zombies DLC adventure, with Der Eisendrache picking up where The Giant left off.  Set in a chilling medieval Austrian castle during World War II, players will embark on an epic four-part journey with the Origin characters Richtofen, Nikolai, Takeo and Dempsey, spanning the DLC season.  The ancient site on which the castle sits was the scene of unspeakable horror where massive deposits of Element 115 have recently been discovered.  Players will discover a variety of exciting plot twists and surprises as they survive waves of the undead.

Call of Duty: Black Ops III Awakening DLC Map Pack is available at a discounted rate via the Call of Duty: Black Ops III Season Pass**, which features all four DLC Map Packs planned for the year, as part of the discounted bundle.  Call of Duty: Black Ops III is rated PEGI 18.

*Awakening DLC content not available on PS3 or Xbox 360.

**Season Pass content not available on PS3 or Xbox 360.  Downloadable content in the Season Pass may be sold separately.  If you purchase the Season Pass, do not also purchase these standalone DLC Map Packs, as you will be charged for them.  Season Pass and DLC Map Packs may not be available on all platforms or in all territories.  Pricing and release dates may vary by platform.  Call of Duty: Black Ops III game required; sold separately.


Comments (0)